The ULTIMATE Ninja Storm

Recently, Namco/Bandai put out a full trailer for their newest installation in the Naruto: Narutimett Hero/Ultimate Ninja series that has been going strong for about 9 years, Naruto Shippuuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations. This trailer also now confirms something I’d noticed when I first saw the December trailer: that Danzou Shimura, unofficial 6th hokage, would in fact be playable.

Danzou is CLEARLY Team Shippuuden. Because eff that 3rd Hokage...seriously.

Just LOOK at that outfit. It SCREAMS, "Don't f$%& with me."

This addition to the series over 70 playable characters, and what I’m also noticing in the trailer is that some of the lesser-known grunts (but nevertheless recognizable faces) such as Darui, Akatsuchi, and Ao will also be available, but whether they will be full characters or just support remains to be seen. This game series has continually kept me jizzing in my pants every time a new release is announced. Why is that? Because of the dedication and attentiveness to fandom the CyberConnect2 seem to have. In Narutimett Hero 2, Doto Kazahana, the villain from the first Naruto movie was available as an exclusive character. A hypothetical version of Naruto wearing Gai’s might suit, Anbu Kakashi, Minato Namikaze (the 4th Hokage), the Konohamaru Corps, and Hanabi Hyuuga were included in Narutimett Hero 3.

All that said, yes, I’m admittedly biased towards Japanese games that are based on an anime or manga. This is usually because I’ve found that they managed to make the game simple, yet complex and fun at the same time. Oddly enough whether or not I’m a fan of the series doesn’t even seem to matter – before I ever played the original Dynasty Warriors: Gundam, I had only seen a few episodes of MS Gundam Wing and decided I didn’t like it. Jump Super Stars and  Jump Ultimate Stars (both fighting games for Nintendo DS), gave me new manga titles to look out for from Shonen Jump. Now in a few months, One Piece: Pirate Warriors will be released, and even though I have a hard time getting into the One Piece phenomenon, I am still quite excited for that game to come out. That should tell you how well the Japanese do at porting licensed titles.

I promise it's not nearly as complicated as it looks.

Anyway, where was I going with this again? Oh yeah – I’m SO excited for this game to come out. I’ve been dying to play as Obito Uchiha ever since Kakashi Gaiden was first published in Jump. And finally, there’s going to be a Naruto game that will let us play as any of our favorite ninja that we (and Naruto) have met throughout his story.

Leave a Reply

